APLA Officers

Elected Officers

To contact APLA officers, please email: APLA (at) politicalandlegalanthro (dot) org and include the relevant officer you’re seeking to reach in the subject line.

You can find a complete list of past APLA presidents here.

President, Ilana Gershon (2022-23, 2-year term)
Secretary, Mark Schuller (2022-24, 3-year term)
Treasurer, Rebekah Park (2022-24, 3-year term)
President Elect, Heath Cabot (2022-23, 2-year term)
Board Members At Large

Deepa Das Acevedo (2022-24)

Matt Canfield (2019-22)

Simanti Dasgupta (2022-25)

Bilge Firat (2022-25)

Arzoo Osanloo (2019-22)

Joowon Park (2022-24)

Appointed Officers

Editors of Political and Legal Anthropology Review (PoLAR)

Georgina Ramsay (2021-24)

Sindiso Minisi Weeks (2021-24)

PoLAR Online Editor

Jennifer Curtis

Book Review Editors
Matt Canfield (2021-24)
Smoki Musaraj
Directions Section Editors

Denis Yunuc (2021-24)

Caroline Parker (2021-24)

AN Contributing Editors

Melissa Maceyko (2020-22)

Gwen Burnyeat (2020-22)

Graduate Student Representatives

Rachel Stephens (2020-22)

Silvana Montañola (2022-24)

Keye Tersmette (2022-24)

Web Editor

Randi Irwin

Communications Liaison

Dafna Rachok

AAA Program Coordinators 2022

Hayal Akarsu (chair)

Sahana Ghosh

Events Committee 2022

Simanti Dasgupta (chair)

Matt Canfield

Amali Ibrahim

Graduate Student Paper Prize Committee 2022

Mark Schuller (chair)

Bilge Firat

Deepa Das Avecado

Early Career Mentoring Committee 2022

Carole Blackburn

Tim Gitzen

Michelle Bigenho

Nominations Committee 2022

Joowon Park (chair)

Deepa Das Avecado

Book Prize in Critical Anthropology Committee 2022

Arzoo Osanloo (chair)

Miia Halme-Tuomisaari

Salman Hussain

Amy Cohen