APLA Officers

Elected Officers

President

Erica Bornstein (2019-21)
Department of Anthropology
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Email: elbornst@uwm.edu

Secretary

Anu Sharma (2019-21)
Department of Anthropology
Wesleyan University
Email: asharma@wesleyan.edu

Treasurer

Kate Sullivan (2019-21)
Department of Anthropology
California State University, Los Angeles
Email: ksulliv4@calstatela.edu

President-Elect

Ilana Gershon (2019-21)
Department of Anthropology
Indiana University
Email:

Board Members At Large

Rebekah Park (2018-21)
Department of Anthropology
Marlboro College

Georgina Ramsay (2018-21)
Department of Anthropology
University of Delaware

Mark Schuller (2018-21)
Department of Anthropology
Northern Illinois University

Livia K. Stone (2018-21)
Department of Anthropology
Illinois State University

Matthew Canfield (2019-22)
Law, Politics, & Society
Drake University
m.c.canfield@law.leidenuniv.nl 

Arzoo Osanloo (2019-22)
Middle East Center
University of Washington

Appointed Officers


Editors of Political and Legal Anthropology Review (PoLAR)

Jessica R. Greenberg
University of Illinois
Email: jrgreenb@illinois.edu

Jessica Winegar
Northwestern University
Email: j-winegar@northwestern.edu

Incoming PoLAR Editors (term begins AAA Meeting 2021)

       Lamia Karim, lamia@uoregon.edu (21-21)
       Georgina Ramsay, gramsay@udel.edu (21-24)
       Sindiso Mnisi Weeks, Sindiso.MnisiWeeks@umb.edu (21-24)

Book Review Editor

Leo Coleman
Department of Anthropology
Hunter College, CUNY
Email:  leo.coleman@hunter.cuny.edu

Associate Editor

Jennifer Curtis
Social Anthropology
University of Edinburgh
Email: jennifer.curtis@ed.ac.uk

AN Contributing Editors

Gwen Burnyeat (20-22)
Email: gwenburnyeat@gmail.com 

Melissa Maceyko (20-22)
California State University, Long Beach
Email: Melissa.Maceyko@csulb.edu

Graduate Student Representative

Aderayo Sanusi 
Princeton University

Rachel Stephens
University of Pennsylvania

Web Editor/Communications Liaison:

Randi Irwin
The University of Newcastle (Australia)
Email: apla@politicalandlegalanthro.org

Committees:
AAA Program Coordinators 2021
  1. Andrew Gilbert, gilbera@mcmaster.ca (20-21)
  2. Hayal Akarsu, akarsu@brandeis.edu (21-22)
  3. Pablo Howard Seward Delaporte, pseward@stanford.edu (20-21)

Events Committee 2021

  1. Matthew Canfield (chair), m.c.canfield@law.leidenuniv.nl
  2. Erica Bornstein, elbornst@uwm.edu
  3. Ilana Gerson, igershon@indiana.edu
  4. Deepa Das Acevedo, ddasacevedo@law.ua.edu

Graduate Student Paper Prize Committee 2021

  1. Anu Sharma (chair), asharma@wesleyan.edu 
  2. Matthew Canfield, m.c.canfield@law.leidenuniv.nl
  3. Arzoo Osanloo, aosanloo@uw.edu 
  4. Rebekah Park, rebekah.park@gemic.com

Early Career Mentoring Committee 2021

  1. Joowon Park (chair), park@skidmore.edu
  2. Liv Stone, lstone@ilstu.edu
  3. Simanti Dasgupta, sdasgupta1@udayton.edu

Nominations Committee 2021

  1. Liv Stone (chair), lstone@ilstu.edu

Book Prize in Critical Anthropology Committee 2021

  1. Georgina Ramsay (co-chair), gramsay@udel.edu
  2. Mark Schuller (co-chair), mschuller@niu.edu
  3. Katherine Lemons (2020 Honorable Mention), katherine.lemons@mcgill.ca
  4. Ayse Parla (2020 Honorable Mention), parlaa@bu.edu
  5. Simanti Dasgupta, sdasgupta1@udayton.edu